Today Is The Day

20 Year Anniversary of 'Temple of the Morning Star'​

Today Is The Day

Kayo Dot, MAKE

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Doors: 8:00 pm / Show: 9:00 pm

$14.00 - $17.00

Tickets at the Door

Today Is The Day
Today Is The Day
Noise-rock band founded in Nashville, Tennessee and currently based out of Orland, Maine.

Headed by Steve Austin (2).

Current members:
Steve Austin – guitar, vocals
Trevor Thomas - bass (2015-present)
Douglas Andrae - drums (2015-present)

Some former members:
Brad Elrod – drums (1992–96) (1998–99)
Mike Herrell – bass (1992–96)
Chris Reeser – bass (1996–98)
Mike Hyde – drums (1997–98)
Bill Kelliher – bass (1999)
Brann Dailor – drums (1999)
Chris Debari – bass (2000–08)
Marshall Kilpatric – drums (2000–02)
Mike Rosswog – drums (2004, 2008)
Derek Roddy – drums (2007–08)
John Judkins – bass (2008–2010)
Julien Granger – drums (2009–2010)
Ryan Jones – bass (2010–2013)
Curran Reynolds – drums (2010–2013)
Sean Conkling – bass (2013–2015)
Jeffrey Lohrber – drums (2013–2015)
Kayo Dot
Kayo Dot
Kayo Dot is an American avant-rock/experimental music group that was formed in 2003 by Toby Driver. They released their debut album Choirs of the Eye on John Zorn's Tzadik Records label that year. Tzadik's descriptive label on that album reads: "Kayo Dot powerfully integrates elements of modern classical composition with the layers of guitars and vocals more common to rock and metal. With a compositional map that is strict in form yet malleable in execution, Kayo Dot uses a vast array of instrumentation to create an exciting convergence of violence and serenity."

Since then, Kayo Dot's music has undergone several identity shifts, largely influenced by the band's constantly-changing lineup and instrumentation. One predominant element of Driver's compositional voice which remains consistent throughout all of Kayo Dot's output, however, is the band's use of abstract timing and performance cues. This lends to the music the element of "malleability" mentioned in Tzadik's description above.

The music of Kayo Dot is commonly categorized as post-metal, post-rock, progressive rock, or avant-garde. Their songs involve complex instrumentation (composed by singer and frontman Driver). They are substantially longer than typical rock songs, usually ranging from 8 to 18 minutes in length.
MAKE are a three-piece psychedelic doom band from Chapel Hill. Established in 2009, the band claims a disparate set of influences from Brian Eno to Lungfish to Wold.
Venue Information:
Local 506
506 W. Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC, 27516